Oligodendrocyte progenitor cell therapy


    Oligodendrocyte progenitor cells (OPCs) are precursor cells for oligodendrocytes (OLs). Oligodendrocytes produce myelin sheath that provides support and electrical insulation for axons, enabling fast and high fidelity transmission without a need for an increase in axonal diameter.

    The loss or lack of OPCs, and consequent lack of differentiated oligodendrocytes, is associated with a loss of myelination, which is the underlying cause for a variety of neurological diseases, such as amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), multiple sclerosis (MS), leukodystrophies, spinal cord injury, etc. Therefore, OPCs offer great promise for all kinds of demyelination diseases, most of which is currently non-curable.

     In the past two years, CIB scientists have collaborated with researchers at Washington University, USA, and developed a novel technology that can directly convert fibroblasts into OPCs, named iOPCs. This technology uses protein kinase inhibitors combined specialized culture media to transdifferentiate fibroblasts into OPCs and OLs. 

The major advantages of CIB iOPC technology include: 

    1) Rapid process for direct differentiation of fibroblasts into OPCs,the whole process only takes 4 – 6 weeks, and thus saves time and resources for clinical applications; 

    2) iOPC technology is suitable for production of large number of OPCs from fibroblasts; 

    3) iOPC can come from patient’s own cells and thus avoid immunorejection problem; 

    4) Compared to iPSC and ESC, iOPC does not have the ability to form tumor cells and therefore, it is safe for clinical application. 

Currently, we are in the process of optimizing our existing protocol to make it more robust and readily applicable to transdifferentiating fibroblasts from different donors.

 

For availability and purchase information of all CIB neural cell products please contact:  service@cib.cc

Tel:0755-23072081




Copyright 2008-2013 of Shenzhen city and three biological technology Co., Ltd. all rights reserved. All Rights Reserved

少突胶质前体细胞(OPCs)是少突胶质细胞的前体细胞。少突胶质细胞产生髓鞘为神经轴突提供绝缘保护和支撑,确保轴突在不增加直径的情况下,能迅速的、高质量的传导电信号。

  OPCs的缺少直接导致了少突胶质细胞的减少,又导致髓鞘的减少,从而引起多种神经系统疾病,包括肌萎缩性脊髓侧索硬化症(Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis,ALS), 多发性硬化症(Multiple Sclerosis,MS), 脑白质营养不良(Leukodystrophies), 脊髓损伤(Spinal Cord Injury)。因此OPCs对于各种髓鞘损失都有重大的作用,而大部分该类疾病均是无法治愈的。

      在过去的两年时间里,CIB的科学家们与美国华盛顿大学的科学家合作建立了一套新型的技术,可以直接诱导皮肤成纤维细胞成为OPCs, 我们称之为诱导OPCs (iOPCs)。该项技术通过一系列蛋白激酶抑制剂及细胞因子对体细胞进行诱导培养,使其成为具有和少突胶质前体细胞(OPC)相似功能的细胞。


CIB的iOPCs技术的主要是优势:

    1)生产时间短,从皮肤成纤维细胞转化为OPCs整个过程仅仅需要4-6周,为临床应用与研究节省了大量的时间和成本; 

    2) iOPC 技术可以获得大量OPCs,解决了临床应用中细胞的来源问题;

    3) iOPC来源于自体细胞,并且诱导过程中没有诱导基因的导入, 保证了临床应用的安全性; 

    4) iOPC相较于胚胎干细胞,极大的降低了成瘤性和畸胎瘤的形成风险。


目前,我们正在优化该实验方案使其更加稳定并适合各类不同的人群。

OPC1.jpg


iOPC诱导示意图



进一步了解和购买所有CIB的细胞产品信息,请联系:service@cib.cc

Copyright © 2008-2016 深圳市三启生物技术有限公司 版权所有 All Rights Reserved